The user may be locked out from their quotes without the possibility to access or modify and continue with the quoting process. This "lock" remains in place for hours, blocking users to proceed.
This happens when the user closes the browser midway where the 'Save' button was still active and changes were not saved, the system will continue to keep these item locked.
In the event, the browser is being closed abruptly or the system is being opened on another browser before saving the changes, the system will then prompt a notification to notify the user(s).
|Yes, continue here||The system will release the locks, and any unsaved changes in the other session will be lost. but this is the best option for the end-user to continue working on the object.|
|No||The system will not release the lock on those records, and the user will not lose any unsaved changes and continue in the other session.|
Admin user(s) now has a list of Objects records that are locked, and the user who is locking them. So in case the user goes on vacation and has locked a record, the admin can release that lock using this admin screen. Go to 'Administration' > 'Master Data Management' > 'Setting Boolean' > 'Enable End-User to release locks from past session' > toggle 'YES' or 'NO'
Administrators have a real-time overview of objects that are locked and can release locks on behalf of users.
- Do not do this unless you are sure that you understand the consequences of deleting certain locks.
- There is a good reason why the lock concept exists in the first place – it is to avoid inconsistencies when you update database records.
- Only delete lock entries if you are sure that they are invalid and can be deleted without impairing an active process (user session, update, and so on).
- Deleting a lock held by an active user can lead to loss of the data entered by the user or to data inconsistencies